Insteon Hub or PLM?

I’m pretty new to Home Assistant and have been working on using it to manage my existing Insteon devices. Since starting out I’ve had problems with Home Assistant losing communication with the Insteon Hub (2245-222). It will work for a while and then suddenly stop communicating. The Insteon devices still work correctly from the Insteon app, so while it isn’t really offline, Home Assistant can’t talk to it or control the devices. I putting together a workaround automation that will reset the power to the hub and restart Home Assistant, but that is not the best solution.

Just wondering if the 2413U USB device works better for Insteon integration with Home Assistant? Are there any advantages to it over the hub?

1 Like

I use this and have had no problems with it.

I too use the insteon-mqtt. If you go with it, you’ll have to use the serial modem.

The 2245 is not as reliable as the serial modem. In short, the 2245 only provides a Web interface to communicate with it so it has to be polled. The polling uses a “circular buffer” inside the 2245 that can overload, and even worse the 2245 itself can sometimes clear out before being read, so information can get lost.

Thanks wmaker. Web polling seems inherently unreliable. Sounds like the modem is a more practical and reliable approach. I’ll order one and so I can stop working on an automation to detect a problem with hub communication. It has been a fun learning experience, but is only a hack to get the hub back online.

There is a fix to the hub connectivity issue in the current 0.105 beta release and should be in full release this week.

BTW, the Hub is not a very good device in general. PLMs tend to be a better option.

I have replaced the hub with a PLM. has been working without dropping from HA. Thanks for the update.

@richt how did you make the transition from hub to plm.

I have the Hub working on the main system and I am testing a USB PLM on a test setup.