Intermittent No Response Messages from HomePods

I’ve set up some TTS messages to my HomePods using Node Red. They only work some of the time. I just triggered a message to a HomePod and it worked. I waited a few seconds and did it again and got this error:

"Call-service error. no response to ANNOUNCE rtsp://10.0.0.185/3102234273 (RTSP/1.0)"

I’ve had this error on several different HomePods. I have a good morning message that I’ve been using for a few years now. Sometimes, it stops working for a day or two and then works for months.

Given that it works some of the time, it seems like it’s a problem with Apple side of the interface. Does anyone else have this problem?

@postlund is your interface automatically updated with Home Assistant or do I have to do it manually? It’s been quite awhile since I installed it. I’m on version 2023.3.1 of Home Assistant

1 Like

Same problem here. Since 2 days no more responses from tts. See also After iOS update 16.4 no tts on homepod

Yep, same here since iOS update to 16.4 on my HomePod mini.
Before that, it happened from time to time and I just had to restart the HomePod. but now it’s permanent and no restart fixes it.

1 Like

My good morning message has gone out on previous software upgrades. It usually comes back after a couple of days without me doing anything. I haven’t tried to restart the HomePod. I didn’t know you could.

Update

After three days of no tts, it came back this morning on one of my HomePods. I did nothing to my HomePods although I’m pretty sure I have auto-update turned on. When I tested it on my HomePod Mini in another room, I still get the the no response error.

Update 2

It didn’t last long. After a couple of days, it stopped working again. I noticed that, if I retried the process, it would usually work the third time. How charming :wink: My guess is that the HomePod is in state that can’t receive messages and that sending it one or two ‘wakes’ it up so that it then can process a message.