Is a wifi only smart home a bad idea?

I’ve been tinkering with HA and smart homes on and off for about 5 years now. I live in Mexico, so we have no attics or crawl areas under the house, so the classic sonoff wouldn’t easily work here. The sonoff basic got me to esp32s and esp8266.

Next thing I knew I was ordering parts from Ali express, and quickly started to configure what I referred to as my “poor man’s sonoff basic”. However the “sonoffs” I am creating now are anything but basic!

With a single esp8266 I am able to play with up to 9 sensors. Pretty much everything I’ve come up with I’ve been able to setup using tasmota. Temperature, movement sensors, sonic sensors for water tank level, weight sensor for my stationary gas tank, etc.

I’ve never played with zibee and the other platforms that are supposedly specifically for IoT. What am I missing on? A couple of years back I looked into it, and one of the main drawback of wifi is that once you have “many” connections your network might start acting up.

I could see how a “regular” set up would make many wifi connections. If you buy off the shelf ready to use sensors, then yes you would need one wifi for temperature, one wifi for PIR motion sensor, one wifi connection for one light switch, etc. You can quickly go over 100 connections that way.

For someone with a setup like mine, where I am connecting many sensors to ONE wifi (esp8266) connection, what would be the advantage of bringing in zigbee?

Another benefit I seem to remember from zigbee and others is better range, but to me it seems spending more money and more/better wifi access points would be a better investment than getting onto a zigbee hub, etc. Cell phones, smart tvs, etc work off of wifi, so better wifi signal never hurts.