Issue setting up WiFi interface

Hi I am a newbie to this OS and to Home Assistant. I understand that Wifi is not the best option but I do not want to do the configuration in my basement.

That said I have tried using the steps in this link:
Install Home Assistant - Home Assistant (home-assistant.io)
To use a USB stick to configure the wifi and it never connects. I do not know what to use for the UUID, I used a randomly generated one a V1 version but doesn’t connect.

I then used the info in this thread:
Guide: Connecting Pi with Home Assistant OS to wifi (or other networking changes) - Home Assistant OS - Home Assistant Community (home-assistant.io)

To go to the OS and check the wifi radio (nmcli radio) and it shows all 4 items enabled. But when I try to do the “nmcli device wifi connect…” command it returns that no Wi-Fi device found.

So what do I do to get past this point?

When I do mncli con show command it only lists one item HassOs default type ethernet.

Thanks

Phil

You can set up wifi networking in the supervisor menu now.

Hi Tom so Im at the console and I can exit out of the Home Assistant console and get to the OS command prompt.

From there how do I access this supervisor menu??

Thanks

Phil

Open a web browser. Navigate to your home assistant Lovelace frontend. Click on the supervisor link in the left hand menu. Select the System option in the top menu of the supervisor page. It’s somewhere in the Host box. I don’t have wifi on my system so don’t see it and cant post a screenshot.

1 Like

To add to @tom_l’s answer, you may need to have your Home Assistant host down in the basement plugged into your modem/router so you can connect to it through the web browser on your computer and configure the wifi as he described. Once you’ve done that configuration, you can shut it down, move it to where you want to keep it, and start it up there.