KNX Rookie question(s)

Dear all,

I just connected the existing (small) KNX installation to HA (I am a bloddy rookie as you will see).
The KNX configuration was downloaded by the electrician who changed the serial to an IP interface.
I have:
1 pcs 12 channel actuator (11 channels for Rollershutter + one channel to switch the ventilation and another device.
Furthermore I have 2 Multiswitches with 8 channels each.

Step by step I am figuring out about the meaning of the existing group addresses.
E.g Switching the ventilation works with the two multi switches (group adress 3/0/7for switch 1 and 4/0/7 for switch 2).
I also can switch is from HA with this config (and see the changes done by the switches):

switch:
    - name: "LĂĽftung"
      address:
            - "3/0/7" # Taster Flur EG
            - "4/0/7" # Taster Schlafzimmer

My idea now was to create separate group adresses for HA and expand my config like this:

switch:
    - name: "LĂĽftung"
      address:
            - "5/0/7" # Home Assistant
            - "3/0/7" # Taster Flur EG
            - "4/0/7" # Taster Schlafzimmer

I also created the group adress in ETS6 and added the channel to the group address 5/0/7.
However, the switch is unavailable and I wonder how I need to add the home assistant device (according to KNX in HA 1.2.6) to my ETS6 (I assume the HA couterpart in my ETS6 config is missing)

Thanks in advance for any help!
NCO

Hi :wave:!

That’s very uncommon. Normally one “action” (eg. switching the ventilation) uses 1 GA (group address) - and every switch (or HA) sends to that GA, and updates its state from it.

Not sure what you mean by that. There is no HA counterpart for ETS.

You will want to get the basic KNX topology terms right, before you continue. See eg. https://www.knx.org/wAssets/docs/downloads/Marketing/Flyers/KNX-Basics/KNX-Basics_en.pdf or get a book / course for it.

Hello,
farmio is right that using separately GA for switching is uncommon. You need only 1 GA for switching