Leaving or Entering Home Zone will not trigger any automation

Hi, I am new to Home Assistant coming from the Wink 2 Hub and I have been struggling to get any automation to trigger based on when I enter or leave my Home Zone. I have searched the community and I have yet to find an answer. I have 3-4 automation and none of them ever trigger when entering or leaving my home. I have included one below:

alias: Open Garage Door when I arrive
description: ''
trigger:
  - platform: zone
    entity_id: device_tracker.sm_n986u
    zone: zone.home
    event: enter
condition: []
action:
  - device_id: 
    domain: cover
    entity_id: cover.garage_door
    type: open
  - service: notify.mobile_app_sm_n986u
    data:
      title: Garage Door Automation
mode: single

Any assistance that can be provided will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

This looks a bit suspicious - I would have expected an actual device ID here (something like “6086…5b7f”).

And does the automation trace tool give you any hints? Is the automation not triggered at all, or is it triggered, but the actions fail to execute?

Hi exxamalte, it does include a device ID I just remove it when I pasted it. When I look at the execution history for the automation it says it never run except for the time that I run it manually. When I look at the logs it is reflecting when I enter and leave the home zone but it never triggers the automation. Thanks

Does your device tracker status change when you enter or leave a zone? You can see it on Developer Tools - State

Have you looked at the trace for the automation? This will let you know if its triggering and if so, where its breaking down

Configuration > Automations > Screenshot from 2021-05-23 15-04-29

Hi Vincenzo,

I looked at the state of the device in Developer tools and this is what I am getting,

I have the HA app on my Android phone with all the correct permissions but its still showing me as away what am I missing. Thanks.

Hi Craig,