Lets encrypt certbot, not duckdns, auto renew

Hey everyone,

just some notes on setting up SSL (lets encrypt). i had a doozy finding info for non duck dns setups so hope it helps someone.

OS is ubuntu, hassio
Lets encrypt - dns challenge
Dns provider is hurricane electric
certbot + certbot-he-hook

Im a total newb at docker stuff, initially i start using lets encrypt addon but get stuck trying to find out where certbot is, how to add hook files and change the command. i setup lets encypt outside of ha, in os level, and feeding certs to its /ssl/ dir. certbot has a third party hook for my dns provider to auto do the dns txt records. Also has a lot of hooks avail for different dns providers.

install certbot python-pip
pip install beautifulsoup4

the certbot hook for hurricane electric, save the py script somewhere. this example /home/endluser/certbot-he-hook.py
.https://github.com/adammillerio/certbot-he-hook

new cert:

sudo HE_USERNAME=user HE_PASSWORD=pass HE_ZONE=myzone.xxx HE_PROPAGATION_SECONDS=60 \
	certbot certonly \
	--domain ha.myzone.xxx \
	--email [email protected] \
	--preferred-challenges dns \
	--manual \
	--manual-auth-hook "/home/endluser/certbot-he-hook.py"  \
	--manual-cleanup-hook "/home/endluser/certbot-he-hook.py"  \
	--manual-public-ip-logging-ok

renew:

sudo HE_USERNAME=user HE_PASSWORD=pass HE_ZONE=myzone.xxx HE_PROPAGATION_SECONDS=60 \
	certbot renew \
	--manual-public-ip-logging-ok

creates certs in (the actual file is in archive folder, live files are symlink)
/etc/letsencrypt/live/ha.myzone.xxx/
-fullchain.pem
-privkey.pem

copy the cert (cp -L, or find the symlink and copy from archive doesnt matter)

cp -L /etc/letsencrypt/live/ha.myzone.xxx/* /usr/share/hassio/ssl/

permission seem ok but in case maybe a ‘chmod a+rx /usr/share/hassio/ssl/*.pem’ helps

Dont forget the configuration.yaml

http:
  ssl_certificate: /ssl/fullchain.pem
  ssl_key: /ssl/privkey.pem

reboot server and login with HTTPS://ha.domainname.xxx:8123