Local Linkmaster/Chamberlain/Any? control with Esphome and a spare remote

I personally have not been burned by the MyQ fiasco, but this is a small project that could help those who were. I do have a Liftmaster door opener but never invested in MyQ because of the feedback I’ve seen about the service.

Disclaimer: I am not an electrical engineer. I know enough to get this working but do not know enough to know if I’m doing this 100% correct. If there is any anyone who sees something that I can do better please reach out and we can work together to help everyone who wishes to use this.

I had a spare Liftmaster remote and wanted to see if I could use an ESP device to “press” a button on the remote. Remotes are cheap and so are ESP devices so anyone should be able to get this up fairly quickly.

I’m using an ESP8266 for this, you could use a D1Mini or ESP32, you’d just have to update the pins being used. Basically, what I’ve done is connected 5 wires to the solder points of the remote and connected them to the pins on the ESP. I’ve removed the battery from the remote and am powering it from the ESP so that there is a common ground and reference for “pushing” buttons. The ESP itself is powered via USB.

Using the remote like this does not break it in the event I want to dismantle this project. It also means that I don’t need to worry about protocols, rolling codes or encryption because that is handled by the remote. Obstruction sensors are handled the opener itself, in fact there is no modification to the opener wiring required whatsoever. You can also control many openers from one device, it is only limited by the remote you are using.

Unfortunately the remote I have does not control the openers lights so I was unable to integrate that into this project.

I am also using Aqara contact sensors to detect if the doors are open or closed.