Migrate from ZwaveJS to Zwavejs2mqtt

Hi guys. I’m relatively new to Zwave and spent the last few weeks adding and configuring 12 devices with the official ZwaveJS addon. I want a little more control of my Zwave network as well as I want the ability to update my devices firmware without having to move them to a different network. Has anyone migrated away from the ZwaveJS addon to the Zwavejs2mqtt addon without having to remove all your devices and then add them back one by one?

1 Like

The network resides on the controller so you should not need to do that. The encryption key used by secure devices would need to be copied over though,

I personally use Home Assistant Container with the official zwavejs2mqtt container from their developers so I cannot be much help on migration when using the addons/

Ok thanks. Just another question. Will the entities that have already been loaded stay the same when I change from ZwaveJS to Zwavejs2mqtt?

Sorry, I do not know the answer to that. I know they both use the same wavejs integration but I think you need to delete it & reinstall.

Ok just a quick update. I was able to get everything migrated over to the ZWaveJS2MQTT addon. it took a little bit as it was being a pain in the butt. I ended up having to delete the zwavejs integration and the ZWaveJS addon on. The I had to start from square one being installing the ZWaveJS2MQTT addon then reinstall the ZWaveJS integration. Once this was complete then everything worked. All my device came with it and the entities weren’t renamed/renumbered.

3 Likes

So you managed to switch from ZWave JS to ZWaveJSMQTT with keeping al renamed entities?

Did they show up with node in the beginning? or after a while.

I tried to do this but all device came back in ZWaveJSMQTT called nodes 1-90 with no succes I need to say I did not wait until ZWaveJSMQTT was done with interviewing all devices.

As I have 60 devices 720 entities I don’t want to rename them all.