Migrating from docker container to HA OS - What is the proper way?

Hey All. I’m trying to migrate from docker to fully managed OS for my HA instance. The reason for this is that I want to move the HA to a different VLAN, and I’m not good at docker networking. The second reason is that my Bluetooth adapter is having issues with the docker pass-through and it constantly requires reboots and troubleshooting.

Can I just make a backup from my docker instance and restore it to the HA OS? Or I should manually copy the config folder instead? Also, is there a way for me to copy my configuration AND data? Meaning sensor telemetry and so on?

I couldn’t find anything in the documentation with regard to migrating.

Thanks.

Yes   

1 Like

Thanks! Does this backup contain the sensors’ telemetry as well? I don’t even know where does this data lives currently.

The sensor history is stored in your database, which if you haven’t changed anything is included in the backup.

1 Like

I’m amazed how smoothly that went, considering that I was migrating to a whole another platform!

If anyone from the future does the same and needs the details:

The backup was ~40mb in size, the VM took around 5 minutes to load it, which was way too long IMO considering that it is sitting on a pretty powerful hardware, and it has a lot of resources provided to it. Anyway the landing page was stuck on “restoring”, but from the ESXi monitoring I noticed that CPU and memory usage were lying low, so I just accessed the HA page from another browser tab.

Worked like a charm, I have my previous sensor telemetry data along with all configs.

@scotrod , Did you have any HACs installed or any external entities (ESP-HOME, Zigbee, etc)?
I’m planning to migrate from the container setup as well, but my biggest concern is how those external entities will be transferred.