MQTT Addon: "Data in your config entry is going to override your configuration"

Data in your config entry is going to override your configuration.yaml: {‘broker’: ‘xxx’, ‘discovery’: False, ‘password’: ‘xxx’, ‘port’: xxx, ‘username’: ‘xxx’}

Hi All

Getting error above.
I use the MQTT addon, and assume I get this error because I put following in my HA config:

mqtt:
  broker: core-mosquitto # This will have to be your mqtt broker, Mosquitto addon is recommended.
  discovery: true
  birth_message:
    topic: 'hass/status'
    payload: 'online'
    retain: false
  will_message:
    payload: 'offline'

What do I do to fix?

You might check this out :

You’ve configured MQTT through both the UI (Configuration -> Integrations) and YAML. You need to delete the UI integration and configure it all through YAML (or delete the YAML and configure it all through the UI).

7 Likes

It’s a pretty old topic but as a newbie I also run into this message. My concern is if I delete the configuration.yaml mqtt settings how can I set the following:

discovery_prefix: homeassistant
  birth_message:
  will_message:

The UI ignores these parameters. Based on my tests the MQTT log doesn’t give any warning but simple won’t working.

The only way I found to configure this is manually edit the storage/core.config
But as a newbie I’m not sure how safe or how good is the idea to edit this file. Won’t it cause any upgrade issue or any kind of trouble? I think this should be a system managed config file but I’m newbie…

I’ve found only the MQTT discovery documentation which tells to configure these in configuration.yaml. I haven’t found anything in the MQTT broker documentation regarding these settings.

Maybe I missed something or maybe I misunderstand something. Could somebody please explain this a bit more?

Enabling discovery is toggling a switch in the configuration UI, and homeassistant is the default discovery_prefix. But the birth- and will-message I don’t know how to configure in the UI.