MQTT garage door opener for "SOMMER pro+"

Hi folks,

I created a small Python script running on a Raspberry Pi Zero - yes there is better hardware, but I’m not a skilled programmer :sweat_smile: - to open and close my garage door which is operated by a garage door opener from the company “Sommer”. Here is my code. Feel free to try out and comment :wink:

I’m thinking of doing something similar as I have one of these on the way. How did you power the pi?

I First tried to use an internal power supply (24V) with a step down converter, but the internal power is limited to 0.1A or so. So I use a standard power supply for raspberry.

Ah right. I did wonder/hope the internal power supply was good enough. that being said I’m planning on using a WeMos D1 Mini which draws less power than the Pi. Hopefully I can still use internal.

Thanks for replying :slight_smile:

You are welcome :wink: Have fun setting it up :blush:

Finally done it, after a day of swearing haha. Thought i’d let you know as I found a way to use the internal power supply.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing! I think I will rework my code (Python and Home Assistant integration). Didn’t know that there is a MQTT cover integration …

1 Like

Don’t know if this is still on your radar but thought i’d let you know i’ve been working on this again recently and done some major updates.

Mainly:

• Moved to a 1 Channel Relay model.
  • Added analog input for Output OC to receive live door status.
  • ArduinoOTA for wireless code updates.
  • Added MQTT config on boot to automatically integrate with Home Assistant.
  • Added availability topic so we can report an offline/unavailable status to Home Assistant.
1 Like

Thanks again for sharing! I also recognized this output module from Sommer but didn’t want to spent the money. So I decided to use a Xiaomi door sensor to keep track of the door status :wink:

1 Like