My Smart Home Build

My wife and I recently built a new custom home. One of the non-negotiables with our builder was that I got access to the house to run my own low-voltage wire. I actually got into Home Assistant because I knew I was going to build the house and I wanted to make it smart. Per request from some people on this forum, I’ve detailed below what I did in my house.

Disclaimer: I’m not an expert but I researched my options and determined (thanks to a lot of advice from all of you) what would work best for me. My general theory on HA is that it should provide convenience but not primary functionality. If I happen to meet an untimely death (or my wife kicks me out :grin:) she can pull the plug on the HA server and everything would work as normal, with one exception that I’ll get into below.

I added links for the devices I used

My HA Server – I had an older windows PC that was running Blue Iris on our farm. The farm needed an upgrade so I repurposed the server for HA. The server has an AMD A8-5600K CPU, 8G DDR3 1600 RAM, and a 250GB SSD in a rack mount case.
06/03/2022 Update - After implementing Frigate on several cameras, and the inability to find a Google Coral, I upgraded my server to handle the load. I started from scratch and went overkill with a 4U case (to fit a large CPU fan), ASRock Z590M motherboard, Intel i5-11600K CPU, 16GB of DDR4 RAM, 1TB SSD
Update: I found a Coral! So the computer now has a Google Coral as well

Wall tablets - I’m using 4 Lenovo Tab M10 tablets (basement, main floor by the front door, main floor mud room, and near the master bedroom) mounted to the wall with a 3D case I made. I ran Cat6 to each tablet and am using a power injector via a Kasa smart power strip to turn the charger on/off based on the battery percentage. I’m using Fully Kiosk app to display the dashboard