MySQL Command

Hi!

I like storing data in my own MySQL database. But - whether it is hosted via Home Assistant’s MariaDB addon or externally - I was always baffled by the fact that there was no sleek way to insert data from Home Assistant. In past times I used a shell_command to call the MySQL Command-Line Client. But after switching to Home Assistant OS this was becoming tricky.

So the idea of creating my own custom component grew in my head. I knew that the code wouldn’t be that complex. So one day I sat down, read some tutorials and created (well - mostly copy and pasted) my first custom component:

MySQL Command

A Home Assistant custom component that creates a notify service to send a command to a MySQL server.

If you’re looking for the same thing, check it out. I’m humbled if this helps :slight_smile: .

Any feedback appreciated (I am new to Python). Have a nice day!

4 Likes

Very nice solution!
But would there be a way to retrieve the inserted items by a SELECT query?

The use case:
I have a database with phone contacts that i would like to query from an automation.
It would be nice if there would be a way to store the outcome of the query to an entity (configurable or fixed name). It would also be no problem if only the first occurrence would be returned in case the query returns more than 1 row.

Thanks for your feedback. This component creates a notify service. What you are looking for is a sensor. There already is the official SQL sensor: SQL - Home Assistant. Wouldn’t this work for your use case?

Hi thanks for the quick reply.

I already checked the official SQL sensor, but the problem is that it’s not dynamic enough.
The SQL query for the official component has to be defined in the configuration.yml.
What i’m looking for is a way to dynamically build and execute the query from an automation.
Maybe i can try to build a local custom sensor, based on your code and then add the following peace of code after executing the command: