New MQTT topics are not shown in Home Assistant

Hi,

I’m new to Home Assistant and I’ve tried to find relevant parts in the documentation but failed to help myself. I assumed that any new MQTT topic gets visible in Home Assistant as long as “discovery” is enabled (which it is).

Unfortunately, I’ve failed to configure a Gardena R40Li mower as well as a CO2 logger to provide data via MQTT to HA. The data is visible in mosquitto (as shown below) but HA isn’t reporting any more device or visualized their data other than the one device that was present and set up during HA setup, a smart-meter data provider.

MQTT>HA working: smart-meter data provider.

MQTT>HA not working: Gardena R40Li via Robonect (URL removed due to Forum limitation to 2 URLs per post for me) and CO2 logger from Unraveltec (URL removed due to Forum limitation to 2 URLs per post for me).

I can use MQTT > “Listen to a topic” for all three devices with many topics each. For example when listening to co2lampel2/sensors/SCD30/gas (Unraveltec CO2) I get:

{
    "tags": {
        "interval_s": 2,
        "id": "i2c-1_0x61",
        "ASC": "yes"
    },
    "values": {
        "CO2_ppm": 509.73,
        "sensor_degC": 38.8,
        "H2O_gpm3": 9.43
    },
    "UTS": 1651924458.838
}

QoS: 0 - Retain: false

Listening to R40Li/wlan/rssi (Robonect):

QoS: 0 - Retain: true 

For the already working smart-meter I need to listen to SHRDZM/AC0BFBxxxx/AC0BFBxxxx/sensor to get:

{
    "timestamp": "2022-05-07T15:26:01",
    "1.8.0": "8051506",
    "1.8.1": "5376438",
    "1.8.2": "2675068",
    "1.7.0": "421",
    "2.8.0": "0",
    "2.8.1": "0",
    "2.8.2": "0",
    "2.7.0": "0",
    "3.8.0": "3354277",
    "3.8.1": "1922946",
    "3.8.2": "1431331",
    "3.7.0": "0",
    "4.8.0": "2156253",
    "4.8.1": "1476048",
    "4.8.2": "48",
    "4.7.0": "303",
    "uptime": "0008:16:47:51"
}

QoS: 0 - Retain: false