Newbie automation help - Nest humidity to trigger switch with dehumidifier

I have a dehumidifier plugged into a Aeon smart switch, the humidity readings on dehumidifier are crap and boucne all over the place, so i want to trigger it based off the humidity readings from my Nest, and may later independent humidity sensor.

I’ve never done an automation before. Looking at the tutorial, I think I can get started, but want to make sure of the logic.

Essentially I want the dehumidifier to run if the nest reports Humidity over 55% and keep it running unto nest is reporting ~46%

So I’m thinking something like this:

automation: trigger: platform: numeric_state entity_id: sensor.nest_humidity above: 46 below: 55 condition: use_trigger_values action: service: switch.turn_off entity_id: switch.dehumidifier_power

Assuming this works, the flaw I see is that the switch would power back on if humidity registers below 46? is that true? any advice on how to do this properly?

I also might want to add in a time constraint to not have the dehumidifier run at all when we are at work, and then turn on the conditions an hour or so before we would get home to prepare the environment.

thanks.

Your on the right track.
The second part could be done with a or condition and checking the time.

I gave it a go. I didn’t get any errors but it did not trigger despite conditions being met. (humidity > 56)

I’m thinking i need to use an if / else statement. would that be done with value templates as the condition?

logic being:

if sensor.nest_humidity >= 56 then switch.dehumidifier_power switch.turn_on

else

if sensor.nest_humidity <= 46 then switch.dehumidifier_power switch.turn_off

any assistance with creating this condition appreciated.

does the humidity value returned from the nest api contain a % that needs to be removed in the condition template?

I’ll have a look asap I’m at a instance of HA that I can experiment with.