Newbie here, Overwhelmed with useful/useless tech

Hello Community,

My head is ringing with HA ideas and my passion is achieving great things on the cheap. I have purchased a lot of different pieces of kit but don’t know how to mesh it all together and have a true “smart” home, all I can achieve is a connected home. I have experience with industrial PLC programming and with that head think it should be child’s play but this is different. I like the look of OpenHab but it isn’t something that I can jump straight into. I am also looking at a 433Mhz home alarm system with sensors that will work with sonoff RF bridge. So here goes. At my disposal I currently have

A google home hub
A google home mini
A Nest
3 x spare android phones
3 x android tablets
Android car stereo
1 x PC in my loft which I mainly use for Emby, never switched off
4 x Chromecast Audio’s (the best thing since sliced bread)
3 x Chromecast HDMI
Sony android TV
Sony Smart TV
Magic home light strips
Smart Home (tuya) light bulbs, smart sockets, IR blaster, WIFI PIR
Broadlink RM pro and 1 x smart socket
Sonoff RF bridge
433Mhz PIR that won’t link with sonoff
433Mhz sockets that wont link with Sonoff but do with broadlink

I keep buying this stuff, it’s an illness. I can get basic functionality out of it, but I find bouncing commands from cloud server to cloud server is laggy and unintelligent and at the mercy of big brother. I keep thinking I have found the answer i.e. Stringify but that’s a dead end too. I would be willing to learn a bit of code but just don’t know how to begin. Simple things like
If someone is home, and the light level is below acceptable, and someone is in the room, turn the feckin lights on.

Is anyone on my wavelength and can give me some guidance with bite sized projects that can give me a push in the right direction it would be much appreciated.