Newbie looking for an energy meter (EU) plug

First off, I’m very new to home automation and thus some of what I write might be odd or ever plain wrong - any corrections are much appreciated.

GOAL: Measure 3x temperature, 2x moisture level, 1x EU (schuko) plug for energy consumption (16 A fuse). Do this preferably without third party cloud services and have the ability to pull out graphs of desired start and end dates for at least 12 months of logged data.

NOW: Understood that Z-Wave has less connectivity / interoperability risks than Zigbee and want to get Z-Wave temp/moisture sensors. Looking at Aeotec Z-Stick 7 and Aeotec - aërQ Temperature & Humidity Sensor as the most appealing so far… for indoor use. I can use a Raspberry or Intel NUC to run Home Assistant.

HELP WANTED: I am utterly lost with the energy meter.

I found FIBARO FGWP-102, but what really puts me off were the complaints that its firmware was not upgradable, unless you own ~400 EUR Home Center of theirs. It also has butt-ugly LED light, but this might be something that can be toggled OFF. Lastly, the Amazon page lists it as “Z-Wave Red”, which means nothing to me - all I know are these chip series 500, 600, 700, and now 800 - which to my understanding equate to “gen 5”, “gen 5+”(?), “gen 7” and maybe now “gen 8”?

But perhaps the energy meter does not need to be Z-Wave, since it can run off the socket. Maybe it could be a Wi-Fi device? Z-Wave is the preferred for battery run sensors, because changing batteries once a year is at the very limit of my tolerances :slight_smile:

Looking into Wi-Fi devices confuse me to no end. Some appear to work only with manufacturer’s own crappy software (usually a smartphone app, which I hope never to have to use). And I haven’t found a listing that would explicitly point out those that will work with HA.

That FIBARO wall plug energy meter is at least a good example what I hope to find - be it Z-wave or Wi-Fi (or some other?). Following wishes included: