Noma (Ayla) IQ Custom integration

I recently bought a Noma smart air conditioner from Canadian tire. It’s wifi-enabled, and connects to the Noma IQ app for control.

There is no official or community integration for Noma that I can find. I’ve discovered that Noma partnered with an IOT platform called Ayla for developing their smart products. I’ve been able to gather that Ayla is meant for manufacturers to use to help ‘smartify’ their devices. They have an API for developers at these manufacturers here https://docs.aylanetworks.com.

I’m a software developer, so I’m familiar with API documentation and these type of requests. I haven’t, however, built a Home Assistant custom integration before. Does anyone know if this would be possible, or if it would be a waste of my time?

Thanks in advance for any of your thoughts and input.

2 Likes

Hey @troyhatchard, I cannot help you with your question specifically, but generally this is how community integrations start. Someone keen figures out the API and then writes a custom integration.

I’m looking at a new Noma dehumidifier from Canadian Tire - I’d be super intersted in this integration if you are able to develop!

1 Like

Thanks for your response! It’s good to hear that someone else might get some use out of it.

This Ayla solution sounds like it’s doing the same thing as Tuya. So if I can create a developer account with them, maybe I can use that to run a custom integration that works something like the Tuya integration.

1 Like

Hey @troyhatchard , I just started as we speak to reverse engineering their API. I would like to integrate my portable AC to Home Assistant. I was curious to know if anyone else did it before and I found this thread. Have you found anything yet?