Odroid n2 + not being recognised on a computer

Hi,

I’m new to home assistant and currently trying to flash the operating system to odroid n2

I read the installation guide for odroids and I get stuck eith an error on my computer. When I connect odroid to my laptop using a micro usb cable and run the codes (ls /devmmc*) etc

I get an error message on the notification panel of the laptop and it says device not recognised. I tried it in several laptops and still the same problem occurs.

I tried installing drivers, at this point I’m thinking either the odroid is or emmc is faulty? Or I’m clearly missing something.

Any help from you will be extremely appreciated.:+1:

1 Like

I’m not aware of an installation method requiring to hook the odroid to another computer.
What guide are you using, and what OS does your laptop run?

1 Like

I’m using this guide.

I have to connect the odroid n2 + to the laptop and then flash it.

Is there a way I can first flash hass onto the sd card first, then insert it into the odroid and then flash its emmc module?

Did you actually follow the full instructions, i.e. changing the switch on the odroid board, hook up keyboard, hook the odroid to a monitor, etc, etc… ?

The ls /devmmc* you mention happens on the odroid, not on your laptop.

Yes Im not a very technical person.
But I can follow instructions well.

The code is entered into the odroid and I followed the instructions word to word.

However, at the end. Odroid should mount to the laptop and be recognised. I get an error message saying this device isn’t recognised on the laptop.

And therefore I cant flash it using balena ethcher.

So this is not actually what you did?

I’m connecting the odroid to laptop using the micro usb cable.

Connecting the monitor using a humidity cable.

Plugging in the power cable into odroid.

Switching the button to spi

Then I type the codes exactly as they appear.