Owlet Smart Sock Baby Monitor

I’m surprised this has not yet been done, but the Owlet Smart Sock would be a great addition to Home Assistant. The built-in features of the alert are OK, but integration to the smart home would take it to the next level.

I’ve found PoC code on github for the API so it should be fairly straightforward if some smart folks are able to pick it up.

I have this for my baby as well. I am not a programmer, but would be happy to test and write any documentation if anyone is willing to take on this project.

@automateit, where did you find the PoC code?

EDIT: NVM, I found the PoC, https://github.com/bobcat0070/python-owlet.

I’m also interested in this.

1 Like

I have reached out to Owlet to see if they have an API documented. The initial support response is that they did not, but are forwarding my request on to their engineers FWIW.

1 Like

I found another PoC with Node, https://github.com/arosequist/node-owlet.

Ok, so it looks lik Github user angel12 has made the most progress so far at https://github.com/angel12/pyowlet/tree/master/pyowlet. I created an issue to see if he needs any help with testing. I will keep you guys updated!

I have #3 on the way and was a very early adopter of the Owlet back when #1 was born. I’m very interested in getting this setup. I’ll be getting our Owlet out and starting to test the API. Assuming it is stable enough, I should be able to put together a component for HA rather quickly.

1 Like

What’s your opinion of the owlet as someone who as used it?

It was very reliable when we used it for #2. The biggest annoyance was if we didn’t place the sock properly. If it can’t get a reading after a certain period it plays a tone to alert you. This tended to happen more frequently as baby outgrew the size of the sock that we were using and needed to be bumped up a size.