Ping internet - cant wrap my head around it

I am brand new to HA, so very much learning the logic.
I have installed the HA OS on a Raspberry Pi 4.

I have spent some time trying to understand this thread . Ping 8.8.8.8 connectivity check - #8 by tom_l

I can kind of gather than I need to template a binary sensor AND template a sensor:

So this is what I have created so far:
Binary template:

binary_sensor:
  - platform: ping
    host: 8.8.8.8
    name: "Google DNS Ping"
    count: 1
    scan_interval: 5

sensor:

template:
  - sensor:
      - name: "Ping"
        icon: "mdi:speedometer"
        unit_of_measurement: "ms"
        state: "{{ state_attr('binary_sensor.ping', 'round_trip_time_avg')|round(2) }}"

But I cant get it to work…

I guess there is a link in the naming I am missing here…

In the second sensor you are building you reference

binary_sensor.ping

Im assuming you wanted to refer to whatever sensor was built out of the first sensor?

If that’s the case the first sensor will have a name that’s built from:

name: "Google DNS Ping"

That is slugified (lowercase, trimmed and replace all spaces with underscore) to

google_dns_ping

And used to build the entity id:

binary_sensor.google_dns_ping

Which I suspect is what you need to ACTUALLY refer to instead on your last line.

Go look for the sensor in your entities list to get the actual name and replace sensor.ping with what it really is.

Thanks - I have updated the code. I suspected that there was a wrong link, but was not sure what to go for.

I still get an error that the Entity is unavailable.

Also the binary sensor shows status as always “Off”…which seems a little odd, but again I am new to this

1 Like

Ok… Good start.

Pull up the binary sensor in dev tools. Lets see what it lists. (was the name correct or at least close? :slight_smile: )

Can you ping 8.8.8.8 from a work station on your local network?

This is the entity name :

binary_sensor.google_dns_ping

Current state is off