PIR - Motion Last Seen Sensor

So I’ve got a PIR motion sensors in each room of my home. I wanted a single sensor reading to show which PIR triggered last. This is the config yaml I kludged to make it work:

platform: template
sensors:
  template_pir_motion:
    friendly_name: 'Motion Location'
    value_template: >
                {% for pir in  [states.binary_sensor.pir_living_room, states.binary_sensor.pir_office_room, states.binary_sensor.pir_bed_room] %}
                  {% if as_timestamp(pir.last_changed) == as_timestamp([states.binary_sensor.pir_living_room, states.binary_sensor.pir_office_room, states.binary_sensor.pir_bed_room] | map(attribute='last_changed') | max) %}
                    {{ pir.name }}
                  {% endif %}
                {% endfor %}

I’m new to Jinja templating. Can anyone point out what might be done better?

It works well enough, but I’m thinking this might be better done with a custom component…

3 Likes

Nicely done. Another way you might approach this is to have an input_select with each pir.name and update that value when motion is triggered.

1 Like

Nice!

Here is a small enhancement you can do to prevent two duplicate lists of pirs:

platform: template
sensors:
  template_pir_motion:
    friendly_name: 'Motion Location'
                {%- set pirs = [states.binary_sensor.pir_living_room, states.binary_sensor.pir_office_room, states.binary_sensor.pir_bed_room] %}
                {% for pir in pirs %}
                  {% if as_timestamp(pir.last_changed) == as_timestamp(pirs | map(attribute='last_changed') | max) %}
                    {{ pir.name }}
                  {% endif %}
                {% endfor %}

You can probably also loop trough all states available and extract any values that contain pir_ to have it always up-to-date if you add more PIR’s to your home.

5 Likes

Makes sense, thanks for the thought.