Powering ESP

May I ask a few questions as I’m new to the ESP32 topic?

1. Can I use this to power the ESP32 (I want to power it from 230V AC)?

https://de.aliexpress.com/item/1005005767928184.html

1.1) If yes, 5V or 3.3V Version?
2) Can I connect multiple Sensors to it? (in my Case 1 Presence Sensor and 1 Temperature Sensor)
2.1) Can I connect the Sensors (e.g. LD2410) wired and do they get the power from the ESP?

Thank you very much!

1 yes
1.1 5v
2. Yes
2.1 yes

1 Like

If you are not already aware, you may like to consider and understand electrical certification of the power supply for your country.

2 Likes

Yep. They don’t look super safe to me.
Those are barely more expensive and certified (or at least the sticker says so).

https://de.aliexpress.com/item/4000594896227.html?spm=a2g0o.order_list.order_list_main.194.614d5c5feJvlsF&gatewayAdapt=glo2deu

You don’t really believe that, do you? I’ve had (and tried to repair) number of such “certified” adapters - thes have exactly the same electronics inside, they are apjust a bit more expensive because they have “more elaborate” casing, that’s all.

But, back to topic: i have a number of esp’s powered by such low-cost modules, all work well. It’s a good practice to insert a fuse on the primary side, though, and, although they are isolated, i rather wouldn’t use them when parts of any wires on secondary side (like sensors etc…) can be touched. But, that’s a very rare case anyway, i guess.

What? That I’m ready to pay 0.85€ more for a better case and CE certification (that I’ll assume genuine unless proved otherwise)?
Absolutely :wink:

Now, at the end of the day, I power all my “nodemcu-like” ESP with phone chargers or powerstrips + USB output anyway :slight_smile:
The ones above I bought those to power ledstrips along…