Prototyping: struggling to get RGB LED to show status of a Servo controlled blast gate

I am trying to prototype 3 blast gates being controlled by espHome in a workshop. Only one blast gate can be open at a time (opening one immediately closes the one that was open) and each has a single RGB LED which can be in one of 3 states:
Open (Green)
Closed (Red)
Blue (opening or closing).
I suspect that the opening closing duration would be 2-3 secs.
At the moment I am struggling to get a single gate working with these basic states. I just have a simple control on the dashboard to open or close the gate

Can anyone help me with the logic. I am relatively new to espHome and am going around in circles with Effects, on_light_on etc

esphome:
  name: blast-gatea1
  friendly_name: blast-gateA1

esp32:
  board: esp32dev
  framework:
    type: arduino

# Enable logging
logger:

# Enable Home Assistant API
api:
  encryption:
    key: "REMOVED FOR SECURITY"
  services:
    - service: control_servo
      variables:
        level: float
      then:
        - servo.write:
            id: my_servo
            level: !lambda 'return level / 100.0;'

ota:
  password: "REMOVED FOR SECURITY"

wifi:
  ssid: !secret wifi_ssid
  password: !secret wifi_password

# Enable fallback hotspot (captive portal) in case wifi connection fails
  ap:
    ssid: "Blast-Gatea1 Fallback Hotspot"
    password: "REMOVED FOR SECURITY"

captive_portal:

servo:
  - id: my_servo
    output: pwm_output
    auto_detach_time: 2s

# Usage of ledc in lights
light:
  - platform: rgb
    name: "RGB led single"
    red: output_red
    green: output_green
    blue: output_blue
    id: test
    effects:
      - pulse:
      - pulse:
          name: "pulsing"
          transition_length: 0.5s
          update_interval: 1s
    default_transition_length: 1s
    on_turn_on:
      light.turn_on:
        id: test
        effect: pulsing

output:
  - platform: ledc
    id: pwm_output
    pin: 18
    frequency: 50 Hz
    pin: GPIO22