Restore home assistant running in docker container

Hi,
I moved home assistant from a docker container running in Portainer to a Raspberry 3B+ but found that the performance is very poor (updates take hours, a simple backup takes 20 minutes), so I decided to migrate back to a docker container. Unfortunately there does not seem to be a restore function in the docker version (I tried 2022.4.7, then 4.6 and 4.5), so I can not take a backup of the raspberry Pi Install and restore that to the docker setup. To be more precise: the three dots on the upper left on the backup page are not there. Am I missing something here or is that on purpose?
I did the same as I did the other way around: Install, go through the initial dialog and then restore the data.

Many regards,
Thomas.

This is what the documentation states, I have never tried this before myself so am interested in your findings
Common Tasks - Operating System - Home Assistant (home-assistant.io)

1 Like

Thanks. The documentation says “follow the link”, however, I tried twice and did not see any link that allowed me to restore a backup. Strange.
What I did not mention before: I even tried making a backup on the new installation, uploading the backup from the other installation, putting it into the backup directory of the new installation and renaming it to the name of the backup I took before. Not even then I can restore the backup. I can even only download and delete any backup I take on a dockerized Home assistant.

LOL (or not really in fact)… tried myself too for 2022 4.3 and 4.6…no link at all
Let’s await one of the more advanced users/dev to comment

Copy the contents, including hidden files, of /config/ from one device to the other.

1 Like

That is the workaround (or for me normal way of working), yes…but it does not address the backup/how-to-restore issue :slight_smile:

Docker does Not have backup/restore