Seeking Insights on RGBW Lighting Solutions for Creative Workspace Renovation: Wired, Wireless, or Hybrid?

Hi there,

I am currently managing the renovation of a compact building, which is being transformed into a creative workspace. This space will feature a variety of workstations and meeting areas. To enhance both the ambiance and functionality of the environment, we plan to extensively incorporate RGB lighting and LED strips.

As part of the renovation, we will overhaul the entire electrical system, providing an excellent opportunity to integrate a smart home system. I’ve chosen Home Assistant as our platform, given my programming background, though I’m relatively new to it.

I’m considering a hybrid approach, using wired connections for basic power control and wireless solutions like Tuya bulbs for dynamic color management. However, I’m undecided between this hybrid approach and a fully wired system.

For those experienced with similar projects, I would appreciate your insights on:

1. The feasibility of mixing wired and wireless systems, specifically using wired setups for power and wireless for RGB control.
  2. Recommendations for wired systems—should I opt for KNX, or consider alternatives like Shelly Pro or Sonoff SPM?

Regarding wired components like wall switches, power outlets, and roller blinds, I planned to use KNX for its future-proof benefits, despite disliking the necessity of proprietary software for configuration.

However, lighting continues to pose a challenge:

• KNX: It offers four-channel dimmers. Along with dimmable/RGBW lights, these could work, but the dimmers I found cost about €160 each, and I have at least 10 groups of RGBW lights. This option will be expensive, and it requires non-standard wiring for the extra white channels. Also, “on wall” KNX controllers are pricey, unless I’ve overlooked a cheaper option.
  • DALI: The mi-boxer “on wall” devices seem reasonably priced at about €25, but integrating DALI with KNX is necessary.