Seems ffplay not found in HassOS with last update?

My setup is a HassOS running on my Raspberry Pi 4B and everything has been pretty stable for the few months that I’ve been set up. A key part of my setup is that when some things happen, I play a small (unobtrusive) audio snippet over a speaker in a stairwell. It’s been nice. I’m still pretty new to this though, having written a few configuration bits, and a few simple automations in YAML and that’s all.

I’ve done the HA updates as they’ve been offered, and there’s never been a problem. But with the last update it seems that the audio player I was using ffplay is no longer found.

I’ve noticed that the environment I’m in when I use the Terminal does not seem to be the same as what HA is in. If I do a “which ffplay” in the Terminal for example it would come up with nothing, but if I executed “which ffplay” as a shell_command in my configurations.yaml, and called it from the Developer_Tools>Services it would find the ffplay application and so I was able to use it successfully for months.

I don’t know that I can apt-get and install apps within HA’s run environment, and scanning for other audio players (mpg123 aplay sox…) doesn’t find any alternatives.

How can I either get ffplay back, or find some other audio player for HA automations?

-Ross.

Not seeing any fix of the hass.io core to include the FFPLAY executable, despite several upgrade cycles going by, so I’ve been experimenting with other options.

One recommendation is the VLC route, which sounded elaborate and complex, but turns out to be pretty straight forward. There are a few ‘gotcha’ opportunities that caught me and produced failures that I found many others had ran into as well. I solved each, so will capture here:

a) In Settings > Add-ons > Add-On Store
Get VLC add-on
b) In Integrations > Add Integration (lower right button)
Get VLC-over-Telnet and install that.