Set Android alarm clock from Home Assistant

I was wondering if it’s possible to set the alarm time in SleepAsAndroid via Home Assistant Companion App intents?

I used to set this via Pushover message that Tasker would get and it would set the alarm. It worked perfect, but I would no longer like to use Tasker as that’s all I was using it for, and hated that it was running all of the time. I also want to simplify this as much as possible (take Pushover out of the mix).

I just recently discovered that the Home Assistant Companion App can use intents. I now have SleepAsAndroid start the sleep tracking, but can only see the ability to turn alarms with labels on and off. Is there a way to set the actual time?

I have my alarm time set off a number of different conditions, and it can change each day.

1 Like

you should be able to create alarms using this intent Common Intents  |  Android Developers

That’s what I thought. I’m pretty new to intents, and have pretty limited experience with this.

I found that page before, and tried just about every combination I could think of to no avail. Also, I don’t know where to find any logs to check to see if I’m even close.

I found a bunch of different references to com.google.android.deskclock, when referring to the Next Alarm sensor. Also when reading this I’m not sure if I should be sending AlarmClock.ACTION_SET_ALARM?

This is what I have that starts the SleepAsAndroid tracking.

service: notify.mobile_app_pixel_5
data:
  title: com.urbandroid.sleep.alarmclock.START_SLEEP_TRACK
  data:
    channel: com.urbandroid.sleep

I know I would need to specify the hours and minutes. I believe that would be set using group option under channel, but I’m lost as to what to put under the title, and the channel to interact with the base android alarm clock.

The first time I did it through Tasker, I believe it asked me if I wanted to set the alarm using the google app, or the SleepAsAndroid app.

Thanks for the reply!