Shelly device keeps going unavailable and disconnected

Hi
I’ve been using some Shelly 1 devices for a few months and have all been fine, in fact great but I’ve recently added a router to my ISP router/modem and all that is great. The wifi signal is slightly better but that’s not why I bought it.

I’m using a Pi4 4GB with the HA image and the Shelly integration.

Anyways, since then both devices keep dropping out and becoming ‘unavailable’ or ‘disconnected’ but work via that hardwired switch. They only come back online when I cycle the power. If they last 24hours online, I’m doing well. One Shelly is with 2 meters of the router and the other is upstairs. No other device on my network is doing this. I have various Pi’s in the house and garden.

I’ve not changed any settings but looking through them I can’t see anything to change which would help. I have tried using the Shelly Cloud and not but it makes no difference. Now I’m going to try MQTT and see if that makes a difference.

Any ideas? I’m not a network or IT guy, so not sure if this could be a setting on the new router but it is odd nothing else is behaving the same.

Thanks

2 Likes

Why are you using cloud? Shelly works without it.

It seems one had the cloud still active and one didn’t. You’re correct, I do not need it but still, they drop out and I have to toggle the breaker to reset them.

I have a number of Shelly 1 devices and they are very stable using the core Shelly integration. There are a couple of settings you have to make in each device though. A lot of people miss this part:

3 Likes

Thanks for the info! I did just try that but porting into 5683 did not work. Just failed to connect.

3 Likes

Ah I see. I’ve implemented that and so far, so good. Will monitor the situation and see how it fairs. Thank you for the help

1 Like