Shelly dimmer two way switch wiring

Hi

I need help wiring my Shelly dimmer as a two way switch.
First, I’m a complete noob in wiring and can’t understand the wiring schemas. I’m first looking on them an trying to mimic them and always end up something not working. From ther I just try changing one wire at a time until everything works. So far this have worked out for me until I’m trying to wire my two way switch in the stairs. I have spent about 14h now, but with all the wires there is just to many combinations and I’m confused about what I have tried and not tried.

Anyway official wiring schema can be found here:
https://www.shelly-support.eu/lexikon/index.php?entry-pdf-export/113-connection-diagrams-shelly-dimmer/

I have wired like in picture:

Configured my shelly button functionality as: Dual button mode - dimmer is controlled with dual switch.
At the moment I have a spring on one of the switches (the biggest one in the picture) and it’s positioned on the upper side in the picture (I think the switch was monted upside and down so I just picked that side).

Everything works OK in this combination. I can

1. Controll everything in the app including dimming.
  2. I can controll the switch on / off from the upper switch - not clear if dimming is working
  3. However when using the second switch everything stops working.

However, If I after toggled the lower switch I then also toggle the upper switch the functionality now get reversed between the upper and lower in the scenario described above (steps 1,2 & 3).

So close, but as soon as my wife uses the switches everything will stop working until I ran the stairs to toggle the other switch… the WAF is not so high even though I’m so close.

Do you still need help ?

1 Like

Hi Ben,
Thank you very much for your reply.
Yes, I have made no progress. The good thing is that my family haven’t touched the physical light switches so the automations have been working.

Do you have any thoughts?

Cheers!
/Mattias