SimpliSafe with HA

I’m new to HA; prior to beginning this journey, I was a user of the ADT Pulse “Smart Home” system combined with my home security system, which was a rather “dumb home” in terms of its capabilities, especially compared to HA. After implementing HA I was attempting to keep the ADT Pulse system as an alarm only and by integrating it via a Home Bridge integration into HA. This worked fine for a few weeks and then ADT had some web issues and it stopped working.

I was looking for reviews on SimpliSafe and its integration with HA, but could not find much other than people trying to work out their problems with the integration. Most of those posts were a few years old so I decided to give it a try. Now that I’ve been running it for about a month, here are my experiences for those who may be considering SimpliSafe…

First, I know for many folks a good smart home system IS their self-monitored security system. This is not an option for me as I am very often off-grid and unreachable. Professional monitoring is a must with my extended absences from home and periods of unavailability.

As for my experiences with SimpliSafe and HA, I am really pleased. The most important functionality to me was the ability to Arm/Disarm SimpliSafe through automation from HA which works great and with no noticeable delays. If I attempt to Arm/Disarm from HA, it works instantly and the SimpliSafe control panel is responding without delay. Likewise, if I Arm/Disarm from SimpliSafe either through their app, the control panel, or the key fob, HA reflects the change in the alarm system’s status instantly.