Skyconnect with Home Assistant running on Synology VMM

Hey All,

Last weekend I finally received my Skyconnect from Hass, really exited to start dangling my feet in the world of Zigbee as I’ve never used it before and i’m planning on changing all my WiFi (SmartLife) devices to zigbee devices for the performance.

Now, i’ve found multiple articles online telling me that USB support on synology was scrapped since DSM 7.0 and i’ve found multiple ways of mannually activating/installing the drivers in order to get something to work. The guides i’ve tried until now are the following:

SkyConnect with Home Assistant Docker in Synology (usb drivers) - Community Guides - Home Assistant Community (home-assistant.io)

Synology: How to Add USB Support on DSM 7 – Marius Hosting

But none of these guides has helped me into getting it in the list of the VM configuration within VMM.
After I plugged in the USB device in my Synology DS920+ and after following the guides above I still don’t have the ability to select the USB device in the VM configuration.

Is there anyone that has the same issue and maybe knows how to resolve this?
i’m thinking about switching the VM to vmware because ther i don’t need any drivers on the host but only on the VM itself. I don’t understand why Synology removed the support for USB devices in DSM 7.x

Thanks to everyone in this community.

On DSM 7.1 I didn’t need any drivers for VM. As soon as it was plugged in front USB port I did see it in VMM and could map it with VM.
This machine was a clean install (DS415+) I use for testing. There were no prior installed drivers or anything similar.

I currently don’t have it mapped as I’m playing with it in Docker (that does require drivers).

Did you try to unplug/replug and see if it will than show in Edit virtual machine.

Thank you for your reply,

My exact issue is that the USB doesn’t show up after plugging in…