SMA Energy Meter in Home Assistant

Hi there,

is there a way to get the sma energy meter running?

thanks
Steve

1 Like

That link mentions a ’ local WebUI '.

So yes, you should be able to use the scrape sensor to get your info. I’d also be surprised if there wasn’t an API which returns JSON that would then let you use the Rest sensor.

On further reading, the meter also supports modbus, so you should be able to use the modbus sensors to extract your data.

• I have zero experience with modbus.

hello,

thanks i never heard modbus before. i check that out.
if anyone has experience please let me know.

thanks

Hi @steveknoefler,

I’m also researching ways to get sensor info and/or control SMA devices via Modbus on Home Assistant. I’ve got a PV system with Sunny Boy 5.0, Sunny Island 8.0 and Home Manager 2.0 hopefully coming online soon and would like to get some guidance on this too.

So far, it seems like there are 2 ways to connect to SMA Energy Meters:

1. Solar SMA WebConnect integration
  2. Modbus protocol documentation on SMA website
    The limited numbers of sensors exposed by the pysma library would hint at looking at Modbus instead. SMA has posted some documentation about which devices can expose which sensors and their associated register numbers. This can be found by looking at the second link above. It could be easy to integrate in practice, but on first look without the ability to test this platform, the Modbus protocol seems pretty tricky to use…

Has anyone gone that route already? Care to share your findings?

Anyone making some progress on this? I’m getting nowhere… Cannot access Modbus and cannot add custom sensor keys in the SMA component. Both Webconnect and Modbus (TCP) are activated!