Smart meter integration via RS485-USB

Because of the radical cost increase of energy, I am now 1 week into my HomeAssistant project.
So I am quite new to HomeAssistant :smiley:

I basically want to break down my power consumption, as my household is fully powered by electrical power, i.e. Solar PV array, heat pump and electric car.
I live in Denmark and already had a few smart meters installed to monitor my solar production and total power consumption trough a commercial product (SolarLog).
I now want to integrate the existing meters into HomeAssistant via RS485, but have had NO succes communicating with them. Please help me out resolving it :slight_smile:

I have done the following:
Installed HomeAssistant via Raspberry Pi Imager giving me version: Home Assistant 2022.8.4
Bought a USB->RS485 USB-stick with an CH340G chip
Ensured my modbus cable is terminated with an 120Ohm resistance.
Defined a modbus hub as follows:

modbus:
  - name: hub1
    type: serial
    baudrate: 9600
    bytesize: 8
    method: rtu
    parity: E
    port: /dev/ttyUSB0
    stopbits: 1
    sensors:
      - name: Pro380_1a
        slave: 2
        address: 2
        input_type: input
        #count: 2
        precision: 2
        data_type: float16
        unit_of_measurement: kW
        device_class: power
        state_class: total_increasing

Upon restart the sensor is created, but appears as “unavailable”.

When I study my log I can see a few error mesages, such as:

2022-08-14 15:15:48.154 DEBUG (SyncWorker_0) [pymodbus.transaction] Current transaction state - TRANSACTION_COMPLETE
2022-08-14 15:15:48.155 DEBUG (SyncWorker_0) [pymodbus.transaction] Running transaction 14
2022-08-14 15:15:48.156 DEBUG (SyncWorker_0) [pymodbus.transaction] SEND: 0x2 0x4 0x0 0x2 0x0 0x1 0x90 0x39
2022-08-14 15:15:48.156 DEBUG (SyncWorker_0) [pymodbus.framer.rtu_framer] Changing state to IDLE - Last Frame End - None, Current Time stamp - 1660482948.156671