Smart TRV's / Thermostats

Hello all,

I’m new to HA and am looking to get it up and running in my new house soon. I’m still learning so please be gentle!

I’m about to fit a new boiler and could use some advice. I currently have an ancient one, there is no thermostat, and no TRV’s for individual control on the radiators.

My goal is to have HA running on a raspberry pi mounted on the wall, with a floor plan to control everything. I would like individual remote control / scheduling of the temperature in each room if possible. I would also like to know whether it is possible to get away without the expense/effort of installing a thermostat, if I could instead click a smart TRV onto every radiator in the house and control them with my phone/pi (I gather this is not without its problems?)

What would be the best system to achieve this? I have looked at Tado, Honeywell, Netatmo etc and they all look good. I am looking at a Worcester Bosch boiler, and am based in the UK. A steer towards systems that users on here have successfully got up and running would be very helpful.

Any help and advice would be gratefully received!

Thank you
George

I said this in a similar thread a few days ago. There are more replies there you might be interested in

I use Tado thermostat, extension kit and currently 1 TRV but plan to add more. I have been really pleased with it. It integrates well into HA. I believe you can use the TRV’s without a thermostat but you may still need the extension kit.

1 Like

I have the Tado TRV’s running without the Tado thermostat, as mentioned above by @EGO01 - you just need the extension kit for them to work. I’ve had them for maybe 9 months or so now and I would recommend them to anyone who was looking for room by room control.