Sonoff Mini in UK - Switched Live?

Morning all,

I took delivery of a Sonoff Mini yesterday to try out; it’s unlikely I’ll find the time to play with it this side of Christmas but you never know.

I’m no electrician but something doesn’t seem quite right. I understand that to retain functionality with existing switches the mini will have to go at the ceiling rose and will be fed by the permanent live, neutral and the switch connection will have to come from the switched live.

With this in mind, all the YouTube videos seem to show the switch terminals being used or tested at low voltage. Does anyone know if it’s safe/designed to receive 230v on the switch terminals?

Thanks!

No it doesn’t. The sonoff mini is not designed to have 230v on the S1 and S2. If you want this, you have to use a shelly 1.

1 Like

Thanks for that; thought as much. Pretty much useless for me then! Wish the Shelly 1 was as cheap as the Mini.

That’s one thing to watch with these devices I guess… There are many comparisons between the Shelly and the Mini but none of them seem to highlight that you’re going to burn your house down if you connect the switched live in the UK!

Thanks again.

1 Like

I have done this (not for a sonoff but for a zwave dimmer).
Assuming this is UK -
At the ceiling rose, completely disconnect both of the switch wires, that way, the switch is not connected to the mains at all and works as a standalone switch. One will be brown and connected to the live passthrough on the rose, the other - blue (should have some brown sleeving on) will be connected to the live of the light flex on the rose.

See attached image - disconnect 2 and 3 and wire them to S1 and S2 (IMPORTANT - make sure the one connected to 3 is physically in the same cable C as 2, it might not be and maybe wired to 4 or 5). Connect live out from sonoff to where 2 was connected
This is assuming your rose is wired as standard

4 Likes