Sonoff motion sensor stuck on "detected"

Not sure what information I should be providing here. I’ve searched these forums but can’t find an answer. I’m a 67 year old newbie so please be gentle.

I have a Deconz usb zigbee stick attached to my RPi which is waht home assistant is running on. I’m using the home assistant zigbee integration. I have a Sonoff motion sensor which reports as being an eWelink model 66666. It has been working flawlessly but some time yesterday, it detected motion and has been showing “detected” ever since. The strange thing is, I’ve removed the battery from the device, but it still shows “detected” and I would have expected it to show as “unavailable”. I’ve tried reloading the zigbee integration and I’ve tried restarting the server completely. But no matter what I do, the sensor still shows as motion detected (even though it’s sat in front of me with no battery in it). I have a couple of Ikea zigbee plugs and a sonoff battery powered lean]k detector and these all seem to be working properly.

Could do with some help. I appreciate that I haven’t given much to go on, so please tell me what other inorfmation I should provide (and how to obtain that information). Thanks in advance.

1 Like

This is weird. I went into “Developer tools” and changed the state of the binary sensor from “on” to “off”. Then I put the battery back in, and it seems to be functioning as normal. But I’m still confused as to why the sensor didn’t show as being “unavailable” when I took the battery out and left it in that state (no battery) for about 12 hours.

I have one that just started doing exactly the same thing. I’ll try your method to reset it.

The method I used to reset it only lasted a couple of days, then I had the same problem. So I gave up on it and bought a different one. It’s a Samotech SM301Z and it’s been rock solid. It’s a bit larger than the Sonoff one because it takes bigger batteries but it seems to work much better.

1 Like