Sorting out ideas

Hello to this HA community,

I am new to HA and I see that HA has a great potential, so I want to learn how to use it in my projects.

But I have some doubts about how to install HA.

Mainly, the systems I integrate have KNX, so I want to install KNX integration, but to configure integration, as I see, you must have the add-ons File Manager and to install add-ons, I must have a Supervised version and to have a supervised version on my Raspberry PI 4, I must install Debian 12 and I can only have on my Raspberry PI, HA Supervised, ie, I can not have another docker with for example grafana or node red, and that has me a little confused.

The doubts that I have are:

To install the Add-ons, is it necessary to have Supervised?

I see that the add-ons are great and I would like to use them, but it strikes me that they can not be used without Supervised, why?

My other question is: if I install on my Raspberry PI, Debian and HA Supervised, why can’t I install other dockers, what’s the problem?

Thank you all for your help

Hi :wave:!

Yes, and more preferably HA OS. Supervised is some kind of in-between solution imho - I’d not recommend it.

Because Addons are essentially Docker containers. So HA needs full control over that environment → Supervisor.

Not really. You can just edit the configuration.yaml file you mounted in the Container installation from the host (or by SSH, or whatever you prefer).

See https://www.home-assistant.io/docs/configuration/

If you use Home Assistant Container, you can find configuration.yaml in the config folder that you mounted in your container.

1 Like

Ok, so, for Raspberry PI installation, it offers me:

• Home Assistant Operating system
  • Home Assistant Container
  • Home Assistant Core

If I install the first option, will I be able to use add-ons without having supervisor?

And if I install the first option, can I use the same Raspberry to install other things like MQTT or NODE REd?