Summer Automations Help

Hello everyone Id like some help with some summer automations and since im a noob I cannot figure it out how to start, Id like an automation to start when the sun is above the horizon from 20th of May till 15 of September and turn off4 minutes after , can anyone help please?

I’d like to,help, not do your work :wink:

You should start with the examples in the documentation

Post your own automation here and ask specifically where you get stuck

Thanks for the link bud , but does not help me a lot it only gives example with people in or out of home I want something else than that , thank you though, Im new in homeassistant and you know Im like numnumnuts

Actually the first example is about testing for sunset (what you want) but you’re missing the condition to check today against your timeframe. I would say read the docs and search the forum for examples first, then post your not completely working automation over here so we can help you fix the remaining issues.

After all, home assistant is not an out of the box solution and requires some DIY tinkering.

Good luck!

I know that, hope one day though someone could create a stringfy like add on for homeassistant :stuck_out_tongue:

Your description is a little vague. Can I assume that you want the automation to turn something on (a light maybe???) at sunrise and turn the same something off 4 minutes later, but it should only do so from 5/20 through 9/15? If so, maybe something like this is what you’re looking for:

automation:
  - alias: Summer
    trigger:
      platform: sun
      event: sunrise
    condition:
      condition: template
      value_template: >
        {% set date = now().date() %}
        {% set start = strptime(date.year ~ '-05-20', '%Y-%m-%d').date() %}
        {% set end = strptime(date.year ~ '-09-15', '%Y-%m-%d').date() %}
        {{ start <= date <= end }}
    action:
      - service: homeassistant.turn_on
        entity_id: ENTITY_ID
      - delay:
          minutes: 4