Sunrise Simulated Wakeup Alarm

I created an automation that simulates a sunrise for the dark mornings we are having. I used an input boolean to enable the mode for each person. I then start with a dim red light, transition to orange, then yellow and back to soft white. Takes over 5 minutes of transition.

• input boolean to enable
  • input datetime to set the time for wakeup
  • color light bulb lamp

HA Automation - https://github.com/mcaminiti/homeassistant/blob/ed65e8c789b08cc8061dbb4e36642333e61aeff9/automation/wakeup.yaml

7 Likes

Thank you for sharing!!

I’m going to use it as well!! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Can you say what kind of bulb you used for this? I have a lampUX bulb from Amazon, with the Tuya integration, but it does not take transition.

I used a Phillips Hue bulb. You will want to view the developer state and see all the supported modes for your bulb. You may have to do more changes to simulate the transitions.

Hi, complete HA beginner here. If i want to implement this automation with my Yeelight, do i just copy and paste your code into my config.yaml and change the entity ID of the lights? Or is there more to it? Sorry for the stupid question, i’m only just getting started with this

Rama,

I have my code split into separate files. If you go to my GitHub you can see I use includes at the bottom for things like input_booleans and automations I have it include a folder and I place automations in that folder.

So for you to have this work in a new setup you can place it in your configuration file but you need a few sections:

1. You need to have an input_boolean created to allow the toggle for turning on and off the alarm.
input_boolean:
  USER2_wakeup:
    name: USER2 Wakeup
    icon: mdi:weather-sunset-up
  1. You need to create an input_datetime so you have a way to set the time of the alarm from Lovelace.
input_datetime:
  USER2_wakeup_time:
    name: USER2 Wakeup Time
    has_date: false
    has_time: true