Support for GE Appliances (SmartHQ)

I own a GE Profile Electric Range and have been looking around for an Integration for Home Assistant but there seems to be none. There is some excellent work being done here: ajmarks/gekitchen: Python SDK for GE smart appliances (github.com) but it seems there some entity types missing.

I think that SmartHQ Home (smarthqsolutions.com) covers some others sub-brands so it would be a good integration to have.

Hi there! I’ve actually forked Andrew’s repository and a new version can be found here: GitHub - simbaja/ha_components: Custom components for Home Assistant. We’ve added a bunch of new entity types (dishwashers, washer/dryer, additional oven controls) and are working on filling in more right now (e.g. Advantium).

Hope that this helps you, and feel free to submit new feature requests over on the github project. We hope to ultimately merge things together, but haven’t figured that out fully yet.

6 Likes

I’m new to HA (Installed it today) and I’m unclear how I add your code into HA. Can you point me in the right direction? FYI, I’m running HA in docker.

You may want to use HACS and install the above link as a custom repository. Alternatively, you can copy the custom component directly into your custom_components folder in the config directory. You can then add the integration through the integrations screen using the normal methods.

1 Like

Ok cool. I’m running HA in docker. I assume it will work?

Thank you for the HACS idea. I was able to get it installed. I have a GE Cafe stove that’s connected to my network. Will HA automatically recognize the device?

I’ve been following along and had the same questions! After I installed with HACS, I wasn’t sure what next either. I was able to get my washer and dryer working last night.

This link should actually take you to your own integration and start adding it

OR