Support for SwitchBot Plug Mini (W1901400) with bluetooth proxying

I got a good deal on a 4 pack of SwitchBot Plug Minis on Prime day so I thought I’d try to get them working in ESPHome. I’m fairly new to ESPHome so this might not be the best way to do this but I had some luck and didn’t see where anyone else had posted about it yet so am posting my config in case others are interested. My goal was to have a locally controller on/off outlet that supported energy monitoring and integrated well with HA and these appear to fit that goal well and a great price.

Link to the product: SwitchBot Plug Mini

There’s already been some great work to support these in Tasmota, including an OTA flasher so I started there. These are the basic steps I followed:

1. setup plugs in SwitchBot app like normal
  2. use switchbota to install Tasmota
  • this is a bit involved in that it requires running a local server and spoofing DNS to point the local server but it’s well explained on the page
  • I had to initiate the update directly via Bluetooth using nRF Connect on my iPhone which is explained here
  1. connect to Tasmota hotspot and configure it for the local network
  2. created and downloaded an ESPHome firmware with the config below and downloaded it in legacy format
  3. upload firmware through the Tasmota local webpage

So far it seems to be working great. Few caveats:

• the value used for the voltage_divider I came to experimentally comparing to my old kill-a-watt
  • size of NVS partition seems to be smaller than ideal
substitutions:
  name: "switchbot"
  friendly_name: "SwitchBot"

esphome:
  name: ${name}

esp32:
  board: esp32-c3-devkitm-1
  framework:
    type: esp-idf
    sdkconfig_options:
      CONFIG_BT_BLE_50_FEATURES_SUPPORTED: y
      CONFIG_BT_BLE_42_FEATURES_SUPPORTED: y
      CONFIG_ESP_TASK_WDT_TIMEOUT_S: "10"

web_server:
  port: 80
  auth:
    username: !secret web_user
    password: !secret web_pass

# Enable logging
logger:

# all the usual wifi configs