Swimming Pool Chemical Dispenser

This is my first new topic, so please be gentle.

I’ve been working on building a measurement/control system for swimming pool chemicals (bleach as a chlorinator and acid for Ph reduction). I set out to duplicate RaspiPool, so a huge shout out to segalion, who provided the inspiration and information about where to purchase most of the key components related to the project.

Although RaspiPool would have worked quite well, I’m sure, I have some experience with using ESP32-type modules in other projects, and I wanted something that would use this rather than a raspberry Pi. Also, I prefer to keep the “intelligence” as much as possible in Home Assistant and have a “client” device that simply accepts MQTT commands and takes appropriate action. For example, my system won’t dispense any chemicals of its own accord. It waits for an MQTT command and then runs either a bleach or (in the future) an acid pump to adjust the water chemistry. Meanwhile, during the day it is regularly taking readings of the Ph and ORP levels and communicating them over MQTT back to HA.

Very much like RaspiPool, I used Atlas Scientific Ph and ORP probes and their EZO and carrier board electronics to read the probes. My method for connecting the probes and the chemical injector is also exactly that described by segalion in his github project.

So far, the prototype system has been in operation about 3 weeks. It’s working very well. I get realistic readings of Ph and ORP and have been able to roughly correlate this with measurements of Ph and free chlorine measured with a standard pool test kit. Importantly, I haven’t had to add any bleach to the pool manually in three weeks, which is awesome.

Here’s a few pictures of the controller:

and the pump. Currently, only bleach pump is installed, but there is a cutout for the acid pump and an additional control circuit on the controller so I plan to add the acid pump soon: