Sync next iOS16+ alarm clock in HA (with Shortcuts and companion app)

On iOS17? Read this instead…

As iOS16 is ‘old news’, I won’t be updating (or better, finishing) this post. I’ve added notes in the iOS17 shortcut that hopefully answers previous asked questions.

For all of those with an iPhone, looking to sync their alarm clock with HA, I’d like to share my solution. It started with the desire to create a ‘wakeup-light’ with HA (30 min before my actual alarm), but ended up being useful beyond that initial idea.

I’ve never shared anything like this before, but have found bits and pieces of information on here that helped me along and I wanted to help others. I’m not a programmer, and it took me for-ev-er. Especially working with the Shortcuts-app, nearly drove me mad. With the help of ‘show result’ during each step, I figured out how everything worked and how it fits together. I’ve created multiple ‘shortcuts’ to make it work, but this is my final solution. For now… So here goes…

This is mainly about the Shortcuts-app (and creating an alarm-syncing-shortcut) and less about any of the automations in HA I created to go with it.

Before I start explaining the automation, a bit of information:

the iOS alarms and their properties (available to use in the Shortcuts-app):

1. Basic alarm
    Alarm: see Name
    Time: date always set to 01-01-2001 and same time as in alarm.
    Repeat: either Never (non-repeating) or the names of the days the alarm is set to.
    Name: uses either the time as the name or if set in the alarm, its label.

2. Sleep-schedule alarm (also available from the health app)
    Alarm: see Name
    Time: date and time of the set alarm(s).
    Repeat: either Never (non-repeating) or the names of the days the alarm is set to.
    Name: these alarms are always called Bedtime.

What will it do?

• In the shortcuts-app: