Temperature history graph

Hi all, I’m new to HA. I migrate from Domoticz and for now all working fine. But one feature is really missing. I have esp8266 with espeasy fw and ds18b20 sensor in pool. Communication is done via mqtt - all working.
But domoticz log lifetime temperatures from sensors and show nice daily / monthly / yearly graphs or you can select custom date range.
In HA I found only history tab, where is only 1d / 3d / 1w period and it’s not possible to easily select only one sensor.
Is there any option how to get history graphs for selected sensor?

1 Like

Sure, see this ongoing thread.

Thanks, history-graph have max of 80hrs but mini-graph-card looks like to work for example last 30d by days. I will try it :slight_smile:

The problem you might run into is that if you want enough historical data you’re going to have to increase the number of days that the recorder stores. Asking HA to save a year of data in its DB may not be practical, depending on what resources you have dedicated. If you’re using the default sqlite DB, or even mysql/postgresql, you will need to be careful about what sensors you are recording, otherwise your DB size could get excessively large.

For reference, I’m saving only 14 days of data with almost no excluded entities on a postgres db on my NAS. My HA, which is on a RPi3, takes 10 seconds to load the logbook or history. The DB is 325MB.

I personally store temperature data in an Influx database and visualize it with Grafana. It works quite well. I have 5 years of data taking very little space. Influx and other time-series DBs are designed for this purpose, HA is really not.

1 Like

Good point, I run HA on Debian (virtualenv) which is on LXC container on Turris Omnia router. Data is stored on mSata SSD drive. For db nothing changed, default sqlite is used.