The Docker Version of Home Assistant Supervised on UNRAID

This post is to share what I did, get comments from more experienced HA and UNRAID users, and suggestions on pitfalls I may not have encountered yet.

Having the typical issues with SD card dying every 8-12 months or so on my RP4 setup I have been looking at HA on other platforms.

I am am so far very pleased with @digiblur your UNRAID template for HA supervisor. So this is a docker version of HA Supervised rather than a VM approach. I see @digiblur mention a funny in the install in this video and others mention various issues but so far all is working for me. I suspect the HA developers maintenance of these docker containers have somehow fixed issues others’ noted in the video comments as I have not encountered much trouble.

Why go this way…for me docker containers are easier than VMs and lighter weight. I am a novice. Also, one issue I have is there are a few addons I have they I dont see available without the add on stores (Pentair control via MQTT and nodejs library addon for one) so I am wanting a supervised version of HA.

I ran accross @digiblur video on youtube where he made a unraid docker template for HA supervisior.

Here are my steps:

(1.) followed the video installing on unraid,
(2.) unlike the video mine installed many addon containers at once, I wasnt sure I needed to but I did make the minor change the video suggests and restarted the supervisor
(3.) My UNRAID IP:8123 then prompted the typical HA is setting up please wait
(4.) a few minutes later fresh install of HA with supervisor tab.
(5.) Backups for hassio on in the UNRAID appdata share, but when I went to copy my recent HA backup to it permissions prevented it.
(6.) I went to UNRAID . I first tried opening up permissions on appdata share but lower level folders where still inaccessible.
(7.) As a hail mary I noticed…UNRAID…Tools >New Permissions…selected ALL for both drives and shares…clicked start