Thermostat to control switches

Hi,

I’m quite new to HA and after some hours trying to figure out my problem I thought it would be good idea to ask from fellow users.

I have BHT-1000 thermostat and a few DIY mini smart switches. HA runs on RPi4 with docker. I would like to add the thermostat to the wall and control the switches with it. The switches would turn electric radiators on and off. So the use case would be for ex I set the temp on the thermostat to 25C and according to the current room temp, switches would turn on or off.
The thermostat and switches are integrated with Tuya and so is my HA.

Is is possible to do something like that or have I misunderstood something?

Yeah, but exactly how depends on how your ‘set’ temperature is reported in homeassistant. For the sake of argument let’s say its reported as a sensor.

Then you’ll have a sensor reading that tells homeassistant what temperature you set and a sensor that tells you what the actual temperature is.

Then you just need an automation that triggers when the actual temperature is lower than the set temperature and actions turning the switch on, and triggers when the actual temperature is equal to or above the set temperature and actions turning the switch off.

1 Like

Maybe the generic thermostat fits your use case?

I have been trying to create automations but by default my thermostat outputs only one entity.

I also tried to create generic thermostat to HA, but again, how can I configure the target_sensor when my thermostat only has one entity?

Or is it possible to add something to the end or the entity id so I could specify between current and target temp?

OK, so “thermostat target temperature” is an attribute, so you can either:

• replace the word ‘sensor’ with ‘climate entity attribute thermostat target temperature’ when referring to the set point temperature in my explanation above

Or

• create a template sensor that mirrors the attribute, and use that sensor for your set point temperature