Traccar devices not showing

Hi,

I’m relatively new to home assistant, and trying to add traccar to track locations. I’ve had a traccar server running previously, which is on the same machine (a pi 4) as home assistant but otherwise totally separate.

Home assistant is run as a docker image under docker-compose using plain home assistant (no hassio). I’ve added the following to my configuration.yaml:

device_tracker:
  - platform: traccar
    host: !secret traccar_host
    username: !secret traccar_user
    password: !secret traccar_password
    event: ["all_events"]
    new_device_defaults:
      track_new_devices: true
      hide_if_away: false

traccar_host is set to my internal IP address (192.168.1.xxx).

On startup, the only relevant line I see in the logs is this:
2019-12-31 15:08:05 INFO (MainThread) [homeassistant.components.traccar.device_tracker] C onnection to Traccar restored

I’m not sure what to expect next - I don’t see any new devices or entities added, and if I listen for events I don’t see any traccar-based events generated. The devices show up and update fine in Traccar itself, so I know that part is ok. Where do I go from here?

Many thanks,
Toby

Looks like you already enabled debug messages for the HA traccar component. You can also try enabling debug for the pytraccar package that it uses:

logger:
  default: info
  logs:
    homeassistant.components.traccar: debug
    pytraccar: debug

That might provide more clues in the log.

1 Like

Many thanks for that tip. I hadn’t enabled debug logging yet, the above was just the info output. I’ve now done that; the logging output isn’t particularly useful but does suggest that it’s not finding any devices:

2019-12-31 17:28:48 INFO (SyncWorker_6) [homeassistant.loader] Loaded traccar from homeassistant.components.traccar
2019-12-31 17:28:49 INFO (MainThread) [homeassistant.setup] Setting up traccar
2019-12-31 17:28:49 INFO (MainThread) [homeassistant.setup] Setup of domain traccar took 0.0 seconds.