Trigger automation actions based on "who" changed switch state

Hi!

I didn’t find how to achieve this, I supposed that this could be a “Feature Request”.

I want to make an automation which will trigger actions based on “who” changed the state of a switch/entity…

When a switch/entity will have the state changed, in the history “more info” log, shows who changed the state… in my case, autiomations will change the state of a switch.

Knowing by which automation, the state of an switch/entity, was changed, I can made more complex automations.

Let’s say that I have two automations (a and b) and a switch. I can make a 3rd automation and based on which automation changed the switch state, I can make different results. If automation a changed the switch state, do that, if automation b did that, do something else.

I am just getting started with similar functionality. I believe the trigger includes a context that contains the information you need. I have not checked if it would contain ‘automation a vs. automation b’ but it might be a place for you to start.

Till now I done it only with variables (addon from hacs)… I change the value of a variable, depending of what automation will change the state of the swtich… But I think something native from HA, will be better…

This feature request is also in WTH: WTH: There is no “Triggered by User” condition is automations - Month of “What the heck?!” - Home Assistant Community (home-assistant.io)
I’d like to see whether a human (wall switch) or automation switched state of a light

It is not exactly the same with that feature request…

I just want to know which action changed the switch state (I don’t care if is human or not). I want to make automation based on which automation/script/swich/template change the state of an entity switch, anything…

But yes, I think that to know which user made this, could be useful as well… I only use one user so… could be useful to some of us